Crochet stuff, Sharing my life

Crochet burnout

I look at my patterns, all lovely. I look at my yarn, wonderful. But when I sit down with a pattern and yarn , I just don’t want to do anything. I don’t crochet all that much. I look at my projects and think what a waste of yarn.

The projects I am doing for A Year of Projects , my theme is Christmas in July for this month, And I just don’t want to finish. I don’t wear silly hats and I don’t know anyone who will wear the reindeer stocking cap. If I put it up for sale in my etsy shop it will just sit there and the made item will collect dust. If I offer it in multiple sizes ,the made hat won’t be the one that I sell .. its happened.

IMG_3606
yarn from Reindeer scarf.

Did I ever tell you I don’t like scarves? Well I dont 😦 I dont wear them .The Reindeer scarf is so adorable.. but not my style. If I need to walk to the store in the winter I wear a thin cowl with my hoodie. Walking 2 miles can get a bit warm. I look at the scarf and think ” this will be cute but a waste of yarn”.

The Holiday flag will be finished. It is something I WILL use. I took apart a Christmas stocking I made a few years ago that never sold in my etsy shop so I can use the green yarn to make the tree for the other side of the flag.IMG_3603

I love to crochet but I love it even more when it’s for a purpose. Like if my fiance likes something I will make it for him. ( the Mario blanket, the fire flower, One Punch man. – soon to be completed). Or for Halloween orders.

Jon said if I don’t like crocheting anymore , then don’t do it. This is after I threw my knitting needles on the floor…lol Someday he will get it right..lol I crochet to remember my mom. Since she is the one who taught me.

If you are reading this and are part of the A year of Projects group on ravelry.. forget I said anything about themes..lol πŸ™‚ I will still be making items from my purchased patterns list , I just won’t be lumping them together and will be making projects that are needed/wanted. ie., hats for chemo patients ( and before you ask πŸ™‚ .. the reindeer stocking cap will be too scratchy for Β their heads). Β  Β `

That is all for now. Time to rethink my projects πŸ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “Crochet burnout”

  1. I’m with you, I do better with making things for a purpose, be it for a specific person, or I’m donating it or whatever. Sounds like you are just in a funk, lost your mojo. Doesn’t mean its gone, just need a break or a tweaking.
    I love that your crochet to remember your mom. That is beyond lovely.
    Why are the knitting needles being thrown? Don’t give up on it. Just take a break for how ever long you need. Crochet and knitting, or anything else like this should be done because you love it, enjoy it and it makes you happy. Don’t let lists or anything else take your joy from it away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Dianna πŸ™‚ I threw my needle because I think I bought the wrong circular set. pattern says 5mm and thats what i have but the tube is too long for the hat. I saw a few videos and their cast on stitches are the same length of their circular set.

      Like

  2. You crochet what’s in your heart, not what’s on paper. If your not happy with something, then it is a no joy and no go. I will say, the crocheted ring wreaths were adorable.

    Like

  3. I bought some beautiful yarn recently, I have a few patterns lined up that I was so excited about, and for a few days now… nothing, the excitement is gone, I just can’t get myself to do it. No idea why, perhaps I just “overcrocheted” recently πŸ˜‰ I so understand what you mean by needing to have a purpose, if I am crocheting something just for crocheting itself, it’s just not satisfying at all. Maybe a short break to find this inspiration again is needed…

    Like

Make sure you leave a comment so I know you where here! :)

