A Year of Projects

YOP6 week 3

3 weeks in and I already think this monthly theme idea of mine wasn’t such a good one.

I did allow myself to make a few non themed projects each month. So why am I complaining? There are just too many non themed projects I want to make… πŸ™‚ Now that I have taught myself to knit, I’ve been looking at knitting patterns. I am a slow knitter with a very limited supply of needles. I need like 4 more pair of hands πŸ™‚

Here is my non themed project of the week. Ric Rac!!!

IMG_3580

This is , well will be a holiday flag. I will be putting a tree on the other side . The sequence is Reindeer, snowman and santa’s belt. Faces are next. I also added a long strip of white to the reindeer scarf that will connect the 5 reindeer I just finished and the other 4 reindeer and santa.

IMG_3581

I didn’t get much done because I was reading. I recently got a RI library card after living here for 4.5 years. Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult is an amazing book. I had to reread a chapter because I was in so surprised towards the end. And I cried my eyes out . Up next: The Fault in our Stars.

yop 6 banner 4

16 thoughts on “YOP6 week 3”

  1. The Ric Rac is adorable! Can’t wait to see the finished holiday flag. I’ve come to quickly realize that you can never have too many knitting needles LOL I’m really enjoying using interchangeable circular needles. I haven’t read a book in the longest time. I use to read a book a day and just about lived at the library. If you don’t know, you can go online if looking for a specific book and see which library in RI has it, and if the one you are going to doesn’t, you can order it and pick it up at the local one. Very convenient.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you linked to the holiday flag project page. That is adorable!!! Can’t wait to see yours. I’ve always got a book going, it seems, but I’ve been a sloooow reader lately – taking a whole month or more to read one book. I’m just too mesmerized by crocheting at the moment. Four more pairs of hands! What a great idea! Though I think I’d need 4 more pairs of eyes, too. Otherwise all my hands would just be making messes. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Have just noted that book as I love Jodi Picoult books but I have not read that one. Persevere with your knitting and you will get there πŸ™‚ Well done for giving it a go. I love your ric rac items and look forward to the embellishments added to your scarf. Leah x

    Like

  4. Love the rickrack! Great idea and also the “flags”…I saw her other ones and the team ones would be perfect for my son and sil and myself! LOL! I have read Jodi Picoult before and she is good. I’ll have to look for that one! Do whatever gives you joy! Have a great week!

    Like

  5. Lovely items in the ric-rac design. Are they for someone special I wonder.
    We all need a fun project like your holiday flag to keep us amused while stitching. It will be great to see it in full glory when complete.

    Like

  6. Love the rick rack! I find you can always do with more supplies even when you have lots so build up your supplies as you build up your skills in knitting. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. The ric rack is very cute. Sometimes reading comes before stitching. My sister read Leaving Time. She said it was her favorite summer book. I’ll have to see if I can reserve a copy.

    Like

  8. Ric Rack is adorable as well as your Christmas flag- and you know, you can change your list if it just doesn’t work for you! Oh yeah–balancing reading and knitting time in my life is a constant battle–always fun to find an author that makes you want to read more!
    xoxo

    Like

Make sure you leave a comment so I know you where here! :)

